Addiction Recovery Means Using the Steps Plus Going Deep Into Our Trauma

Emotional Sobriety: Mind, Body, & Soul

17570823380_51e9e1f35a_zOne of my favorite codependency authors is Anne Wilson Schaef. Some of my favorite quotes of hers are:

There are so many ways to heal. Arrogance may have a place in technology, but not in healing. I need to get out of my own way if I am to heal.

We must move in our recovery from one addiction to another for two major reasons: first, we have not recognized and treated the underlying addictive process, and second, we have not accurately isolated and focused upon the specific addictions.

1. From LA Times: “Everyday Addicts“:

“My experience is that everybody in this audience is an addict of some kind or another,” declares Anne Wilson Schaef, unabashedly categorizing about 500 women ministers as users and abusers: Workaholics. Shopaholics. Caffeine addicts. Alcoholics. Co-dependents. Prescription pill poppers. Perhaps all of the above.

The women are not offended. Instead, they nod in…

View original post 924 more words

